• Port Harcourt replaces Asaba for SS Zone

Severe sanctions await clubs that may fail to participate in the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) Youth League which kicks off with zonal qualifiers from February 1-3 in designated centres.

NPFL Chairman, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye conveyed the position of the Board to the NPFL Media shortly after a meeting with the Chairman of the Youth League Committee, Pastor Emeka Inyama in Abuja on Friday.

“Participation in this first edition of the Youth League is compulsory for all 20 NPFL Clubs and there will be serious sanctions for any club that for whatever reason failed to present their Youth team for the competition”, warned the League boss.

Explaining further, Elegbeleye noted that “the Youth League is the future of every senior league as it ensures that younger players are groomed to replace those who would be retired on account of age and injuries or who find employment outside the country”.

He said progression of players from the youth league also spares clubs the cost of having to buy players from other clubs while maintaining the club’s culture and values.

Inyama added that the Committee is in touch with all the clubs and working with them to ensure a hitchfree documentation and start of the zonal qualifiers.

He revealed that the venue for the South-South qualifiers has been moved to Port Harcourt from Asaba.

Teams are arriving their zonal grounds on January 30 while the screening for documentation holds January 31.

The zones are Kaduna for Northeast and Northwest, Enugu for Southeast, Ekiti for Southwest and Lafia for North Central.

David NPFL
January 27, 2024
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *