Determined to invigorate organised youth football league, the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) Board has set up a seven-member Youth League Committee to organise the 2023/24 NPFL Youth League.

Former Chairman of Abia Warriors and a one-time member of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Pastor Emeka Inyama heads the Committee as Chairman.

Chairman of the NPFL, Hon Gbenga Elegbeleye, announced the composition of the Committee, Monday morning and remarked that “we want to ensure that every NPFL Clubs has a competitive youth team”.

He further noted that the Club Licensing Regulations makes it compulsory for every licensed club to have a youth team that will participate in the Youth League.

“The Youth League will serve as the growth centre to develop the next generation of NPFL Players as some gets older and others move abroad. This way, we would have a transition structure and also provide the country with options in youth development football at the U-15, U-17 and U-20 levels”, Elegbeleye told NPFL Media.

Other members of the Committee include the Chairman of Benue State Football Association, Barrister Paul Ede, ex-international, Patrick Paschal, Sabo Abdullahi Eka, Nicholas Morris Kemeghde and the Lagos State FA Vice Chairman, Gafar Liameed who is also the proprietor of NNL Side, 36 Lions. NPFL Head of Competitions, Dr. Sunday Obaseki will serve as Secretary.

According to the NPFL Chairman, the NPFL Youth League will hold during the one-week mid-season break to determine the qualifiers for a national championship playoff.

David NPFL
November 13, 2023
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *