By George Akpayen

Remo Stars have moved into top spot of the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL) after defeating southwest rivals, Sporting Lagos 2-1 at the Remo Stars Stadium in Ikenne on Sunday.

Lagos side Sporting Lagos stunned their hosts when they took the lead on 21 minutes through winger Jonathan Alukwu. The lead lasted only 10 minutes as Togolese forward Franck Mawuena turned up at the other end to level score to leave things even at the break.

The second 45 minutes was delayed following a heavy downpour but it was Remo Stars that claimed the full points after Sikiru Alimi scored from the spots three minutes into the restart to seal victory for the Sky Blue Stars. Remo Stars are now top of the pile with nine points after four matchweeks.

Lobi Stars keep second place following their 2-0 win over Abia Warriors at the Lafia City Stadium. Ahmadu Liman and Danbani Alao netted the goals for the Pride of Benue whose game was shifted by a day owing to an armed robbery attack in the town of Oturkpo leading to the deaths of several people.

In Ilorin, 2016 champions Rangers earned themselves a point off Kwara United in a 1-1 draw. Kazeem Ogunleye scored for Rangers with 11 minutes before the break before Alao Mohammed equalized for the home side on 56 minutes.

Akwa United continued their poor start to the season by failing to win their first game when they played hosts to Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) at the Eket Stadium. The Promise Keepers relocated from Uyo to Eket following international matches scheduled for their homeground, the Next of Champions. Unfortunately for Fatai Osho and his men, they played out a 0-0 draw with 3SC who are now fourth on the standings with seven points.

Michael Ibe ensured that Katsina United took a point off Heartland at the Dan Anyiam Stadium in Owerri. Both teams played a 1-1 draw after Christian Nnaemeka had opened scoring for Heartland on four minutes and Ibe evened the score with 18 minutes to time.

Niger Tornadoes, Kano Pillars, Gombe United and Plateau United, all won by slim margins of 1-0 against Bayelsa United, Rivers United, Bendel Insurance and Sunshine Stars respectively.

Yahuza Bala, Rabiu Ali, Ahmed Jimoh and Albert Hilary were the goalscorers for Niger Tornadoes, Kano Pillars, Gombe United and Plateau United accordingly.

David NPFL
October 22, 2023
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *